Nice paper. Now what does it say?

Quick post on David Dobb’s guest post on The Guardian science blog network, “Publishing your science paper is only half the job.” This is a fantastic quote:

But here’s the essential fact: science has no importance or value until it enters the outside world. That’s where it takes on meaning and value. And that’s where its meaning and value must be explained.

I have to admit that, nearing the end of graduate school, it dawned on me that probably less than the average 0.6 of a person was going to be reading my papers (not counting my mom). It wasn’t until after I graduated that blogging really took off – I’m thinking now that it would have been nice to be able to blog about my research to the external world.

Leave a Reply

