Knee-deep in grants

I know I’m way overdue for a post; January has been chock-a-block (which for a freelancer is a good thing), and I just haven’t been able to come up for air. With the February NIH grant deadlines looming, I have been pretty busy with grantwriting and editing jobs. If you are a regular reader, you might remember my post a few months ago on whether I wanted to officially add “grantwriting” to my services menu. Well, I think that decision was made for me.

Most…no, all of my business has come to me through networking, word-of-mouth, from current clients who were probably asked off-handedly by their colleagues whether they used or could recommend a medical/science writer/editor. So I am taking my recent onslaught of grant work as confirmation that I did a decent job on previous grants. Good enough that my clients feel like they can recommend me to their colleagues. It’s a nice validation that I am on the right track.

So the grant work is rolling in and I’m pretty happy about the path my career is taking this year. Grantwriting is a niche that nicely fits both my background in academia as well as my professional experience in healthcare marketing. Me being me, I’ve also been doing a little self-study as well, making sure that I am completely up-to-date and not missing anything, and bulking up my grantsmanship muscles. Beyond inhaling the entire contents of the NIH Office Of Extramural Research site, I’ve been reading several guidebooks. There are many, many books on grantwriting–and specifically NIH grantwriting–out there, but here are some resources that I’ve found to be particularly helpful:

Otto O. Yang – Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant Application

Thomas E. Ogden, Israel A. Goldberg – Research Proposals, Third Edition: A Guide to Success (this one was just updated to cover the new, shortened research plan format)
 
Leave a Reply

