Going with the freelance flow

Seems like I’m getting around to posting about once a month. Not as often as I’d like, that’s for sure. But I have been busy. Amazingly busy. Which, as a newly minted freelance is a very, very validating state to be in. It’s difficult to look more than a couple of months into the future, but it seems as though this career move is going to work out after all.

The first few months of freelancing have been a period of adjustment, that’s for sure. I had to get comfortable in my new anti-schedule. I no longer have to rush here and there, switching mental gears from my part-time freelance projects to my part-time salaried job. Working a single environment, on projects that are mine to prioritize and schedule, avoiding distractions, and taking advantage of the luxury of huge blocks of time…all of these took some getting used to.

But I think I have finally figured this thing out. (I know that as soon as I say that, I’m going to get thrown a curveball, but oh well.) Though I am still struggling with the financial rollercoaster – trying hard not to check for the mailman 10 times a day – my daily schedule is coming together. I am learning to set realistic deadlines, make the best use of my time, and take periodic breaks to clear my head. My weekly schedule might be more or less crazy, with some days lighter than others, and some days ridiculously full, but that’s okay. I’ve learned to enjoy the light days and take pride in the full days, and try to set deadlines that will even things out as much as possible.

At the moment, I am looking forward to the AMWA conference in a couple of weeks. Of course, I know I will be working steadily from my hotel room in the evening, but I know it will be a great break of sorts. I am taking the last of the workshops I need for my essential skills certificate, and I’m looking forward to the sessions that cover freelancing issues, where I hope to pick up some good tips from my colleagues. Based on my experience at last year’s conference, I am hoping to come away inspired and validated and ready to continue on with my career.

One response to “Going with the freelance flow

  1. Yay!!! Congrats. I’m so glad for you. I think that things will work well for you for sure. I can’t wait to catch up on your posts. You’re certainly an inspiration for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

